Delhi assembly elections began across the 70 assembly constituencies, while the polling percentage was recorded at 55%


More than 14.7 million voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the Delhi assembly election for the 672 candidates in the fray in the ultimately watched battle for the national capital.Reports says that there are 81,05,236 male voters, 66,80,277 female voters and 869 third gender voters. They queued up to vote in the 13,571 polling booths across 2689 areas in the Capital. The AAP is contesting on all the 70 seats, while the BJP has fielded its candidates on 67 seats and has left three seats for its allies—two for Janata Dal(United) and one for Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) while Congress is contesting on 66 seats and has given four seats to its ally Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

The Congress, which was in power for 15 years at a stretch in Delhi under the leadership of former chief minister late Sheila Dixit till the party lost to the AAP in 2015 polls, is hoping for a revival.

The AAP has focused on local governance issues and its track record in the past five years and the BJP campaigned on the larger ideological issue of the Citizenship (Amendment) Act and national security.

The AAP’s Dilip Pandey is contesting from Timarpur, Atishi from Kalkaji, Raghav Chadha from Rajender Nagar.

The BJP has fielded Vijender Gupta from Rohini. Former AAP leader Kapil Mishra is the BJP candidate from Model Town in this election. Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga is a BJP candidate from Hari Nagar.

To ensure peaceful polling in all the 70 assemblies, as many as 190 companies of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) have been deployed. Besides this, 19,000 Home Guards and 42,000 Delhi Police personnel are also on duty.

Additional staff from the PCR, traffic, and communication have also been pressed into service to man the polling booths. looking at the stats there are 3,141 polling stations which have been identified as critical along with 144 vulnerable polling stations and 102 expenditure sensitive pockets.

Delhi’s chief electoral officer (CEO) declared all the five polling stations in Shaheen Bagh “critical”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here